|
Cemeteries Ethnic Genealogy History Locating Records |
Immigration & Naturalization
Additional Online Databases & Websites
Wikis, Blogs & Web 2.0 |
Westwood Public Library Offers a number of resources to help you with your genealogy journey.
The most powerful tool we offer is Ancestry / Library Edition
Learn more about it by watching this brief video
Research Templates - Includes blank family charts, research logs, and style sheets
A Quick User Guide on how to send images home from the Ancestry Library Edition.
A Quick User Guide to assist with saving Images.
Genealogy Resources Book List
Online Resources
List of files contained in the Westwood Public Library Vertical File. These files can be accessed upon request for in house use only.
Naturalization Records at the Massachusetts Archives - Link opens PDF file
Boston Public Library Historical Boston Globe (Need Free BPL Card- Sign up for a BPL eCard)
Boston Public Library Genealogy LibGuide
Boston Public Library has a stellar collection of local and family history materials in print, in electronic format, and on microform. This includes published genealogies, town histories, immigration records, passenger lists, newspapers, and many other resources to help you find the history of your family.
The Boston Public Library has also recorded some of their wonderful genealogy classes and these videos are available on YouTube (Links below)
1:20:54
Introduction to Genealogy & BPL Resources (April 17th, 2024)
1:29:47
1:08:53
57:37
1:01:19
1:13:50
1:23:12
•
58:30
53:33
1:22:52
•
1:00:46
1:11:31
1:13:12
1:10:56
1:06:30
47:01
1:30:44
1:08:03
1:12:23
1:10:28
The Public Works Department handles all activities pertaining to cemetery management. The Town of Westwood does not have a separate cemetery department. For more information, click here.
If you have the date of death but don't know the location of a grave, or which cemetery the grave is located in, checking FindAGrave.com is one of the best places to start. Started in 1995, information for FindAGrave.com is made possible by thousands of volunteers who new listings, updates, corrections, photographs, every hour. Additionally, people ass information about cemeteries to the site to help identify the final disposition information of the people buried there. Site management is done by the FindAGrave administrative team, and are not associated with the cemetery and don't have any information beyond what volunteers add. For more information about a specific cemetery, contact that cemetery.
8 Steps to Find A Loved One's Grave in a Cemetery
If you haven’t taken the time to find the gravesites for your ancestors, you might feel like a piece of your genealogy puzzle is missing. Visiting the grave of an ancestor is often a powerful experience. It puts your lineage and mortality in perspective, and it’s also an opportunity to respect those who died before you. Also included is a section for helping you find a unmarked grave.
Find a Grave is the best place on the internet to look for burial and other final disposition information for your family, friends and famous people. At Find a Grave you’ll find details about cemeteries and individual memorials for many people buried in those cemeteries. Memorials generally include birth, death and burial information and may include pictures, biographies, family information and more.
BillionGraves is the world's largest resource for searchable GPS cemetery data, and is growing bigger and better every day. Search our free index for family and link records to your favorite familytree resource. We've partnered with great companies like FamilySearch, MyHeritage and Findmypast. Whatever you find on BillionGraves is copied onto our partner sites!
Arlington National Cemetery's ANC Explorer, enables families, visitors and the public to locate gravesites, events or other points of interest throughout the cemetery; view front-and-back headstone photos and points of interest; and receive directions to these locations. The latest version also includes self-guided tours, easy access to general information, and provides the ability to save searched burial records to a mobile device.
This website contains 25+ million cemetery records, transcripts, and burial registers, from tens of thousands of cemeteries across the world, all contributed by genealogists, cemeteries, government agencies, and private organizations.
Enter the first and last name of your ancestor, the city or county you think they may be buried in, and the word, “cemetery” and click search
Westwood Library Vertical File
Not everything is online - Westwood Public Library has a wonderful new Microfilm Machine and back issues of Westwood Press and other local papers. Ask for help at the Info Services Desk.
Westwood Public Library
