The following kits are available to check out:
Alphabet Learning Locks: Here’s the key to building alphabet skills! Our learning locks help kids recognize uppercase and lowercase letters and explore letter sounds. Kids simply choose a key and match it to the letter or to the picture on the lock—when they make a successful match, the key will turn and the lock will open for instant reinforcement!
Alphabet Puzzles: Self-correcting puzzles help children learn to identify letters and their sounds. Match each picture with the corresponding letter to solve all 26 puzzles- one for every letter of the alphabet! Perfect for activity centers or individual use.
Alpha-Bots: Ordinary letters one moment...extraordinary robots the next! With just a few twists and turns, our chunky letters transform into super-cool robots that kids can’t resist. The 26 Alpha-Bots each change into a different letter of the alphabet—helping kids boost letter skills as they play!
BINGO: Learn Uppercase Letters: Enjoy a game that teaches the alphabet! This twist on classic Bingo helps kids learn and practice letter names and sounds. Help your child develop letter recognition, plus vocabulary and language skills as you play. Reach into the bag and pull out a letter token—if you have a match, you're on your way to a bingo! It’s easy to play, with six boards so friends and family can join the fun.
Bug Discovery Kit: Kids get an up-close look at 12 amazing bugs—from a leaf beetle to a lantern fly! Each real specimen is permanently encased in indestructible acrylic, so kids can safely explore them from every angle. Plus, you get a fascinating fact book and handy magnifier—all in a cute storage tray with labeled compartments for each bug.
Building Brick STEM Challenge Kit: Give kids a fun new way to build STEM skills! From constructing a bridge for a car to cross to creating a marble maze, children design and troubleshoot their creations, problem-solving their way through each exciting challenge! Kit includes 253 building pieces, 4 marbles and 10 double-sided challenge cards.
Counting Family Engagement Math Pack: Includes everything families need to play a hands-on game that boosts counting skills. Plus, it comes with a simple, step-by-step instruction card in English and Spanish…so busy families can jump right in! You get 10 activity mats, 65 butterfly counters, a 10-sided die and a drawstring bag—all in a sturdy vinyl pouch.
Fairy Tale Problem Solving Kit-Rapunzel: Kids use STEM skills to help Rapunzel! Perfect for building problem-solving skills, the kit includes a story card that presents a dilemma for kids to solve. Children have to plan, create and test solutions to help a prince scale a tower to rescue Rapunzel! The kit comes with a STEM-focused story card, 60 plastic ladder builders, 4 figures, a plywood tower, a guide, plus student and teacher cards with lesson plans and full support.
Fairy Tale Problem Solving Kit-Three Billy Goats Gruff: Kids engineer a happy fairy tale ending—as they construct a bridge that keeps 3 goats safe from the troll! Our kit helps children discover the STEM in one of their favorite fairy tales—and naturally inspires them to explore a challenging situation until they find a solution! The kit includes a STEM-focused story card, 35 wooden blocks with hook & loop fastener, 3 goats, a troll, a guide, plus student and teacher cards with lesson plans and full support.
I Can Build It! Architecture Set: Young architects learn about spatial reasoning and building in three dimensions as they construct one realistic house after another! Children just follow the prompts on our activity cards—slotting together plastic walls, floors and roofs to create 10 different houses even professionals would be proud of. With every house they complete, kids develop essential STEM skills and spatial awareness. You get 10 activity cards, 41 building pieces and a guide.
Learning Palette: This mix-and-match learning palette was designed for Kindergarten learning. It can be used for a variety of subjects including: alphabet, beginning consonants, and beginning vocabulary.
Magnet Kit: Amaze children with the wonders of magnetism as they make magnets float in midair, go on a magnetic scavenger hunt…even see how a magnet’s poles work! Kit comes with all your class needs for unlimited exploration, including magnetic wands, horseshoe magnets, bar magnets and more. You also get 20 activity cards featuring exciting experiments, each with an explanation on back to reinforce key concepts and ideas!
Magnetic Math: Math skills really stick with our all-in-one magnetic math tin—where the lid becomes the activity board! Children just lift the magnetic lid off the sturdy storage tin, flip it over and place one of 15 different activity mats inside. Then they use the easy-grip magnets to fill in the blanks…and get hands-on practice with counting, matching numbers to quantities and sequencing! You get an activity tin, 15 mats and 20 magnets.
Microscope Kit: Our easy-to-use set lets young scientists view specimens at 100, 600…even 1,200 times their normal size! Handy plastic case comes with a top-quality metal microscope, plus all the tools children need to observe and discover!
Periodic Table Book and Jigsaw Puzzle: Everything in the Universe is made up of just 118 chemical elements which are displayed in the Periodic Table. Meet each element in this entertaining book and 300-piece jigsaw set, and discover which are crucial to life, which are smelly, explosive or radioactive and lots more. With links to websites with videos and activities to find out more.
Phonemic Awareness Folder Games: As children play our exciting folder games, they get hands-on, independent practice with beginning sounds, rhyming sounds, syllable counting and more! Our library features 10 self-checking folder games covering 6 essential language skills. Kids select a game and the corresponding pouch of game pieces…then just follow the picture instructions for tons of skill-building fun. Plus, all the pieces come precut and sorted—so there’s no prep work required!
Picture Rhymes: I Spy a Mouse in the House! is a fun rhyme matching game designed to help build phonemic awareness and develop vocabulary. Children identify rhyming objects in the house and collect game cards to win. Perfect for 1 to 3 players, the set includes 36 durable cards, a colorful game board, and an activity guide for 3 different games to play.
Picture Sequencing: What Happens Next? is a fun, picture sequencing game designed to help build visual discrimination and sequence skills. Only the right pieces fit together as young learners acquire an understanding of logical order—a perfect tool for this pre-reading skill! The set contains (14) 3-piece puzzles and directions in English and Spanish.
Ready for Preschool Backpack: Our skill-building backpack has everything children need to prepare for preschool! We've included a 3—month calendar filled with developmentally appropriate activities children complete with their parents—all printed in English and Spanish. The activities reinforce the basic skills preschoolers need to succeed—from counting to letter recognition.
Remote Control Gear Bot: Roll out the adventures with a real-moving robot you design yourself! Just connect any combination of gears, claws, heads and more to a motorized base…use the remote to direct your mighty robot to roll and turn in any direction you choose...and set all its gears in motion—from up to 50 feet away! The set comes with 149 pieces, including an easy-to-use wireless remote control. Plus, you get a full-color guide featuring step-by-step instructions to jump-start the building process.
Rhyming Words Puzzle Pairs: Set includes 50 pieces of words that need to be matched up to the words that sound the same. When children recognize words that rhyme they’ve mastered a critical auditory pre-reading skill. When the two puzzle pieces are connected, the printed words are side-by-side, reinforcing the awareness that groups of letters are associated with the rhyming sounds. This game promotes that knowledge with familiar words and appealing pictures.
Rhyming Puzzles: Boost rhyming skills with fun, self-correcting puzzles. Match each picture with the corresponding rhyming word to solve all 25 puzzles. Perfect for activity centers or individual use. Targets standards in these areas: Identify and discriminate between sounds in words, and recognize and produce rhyming words.
Simple Words Puzzle Pairs: Simple Words Puzzle Pair includes 48 pieces that a child can match an image to a word, a perfect pre-reading activity. Long before children can “read” they begin to recognize individual words. When an adult reads a word, and a child selects a picture of that word to make a complete puzzle, a greater connection is made.
Snap Circuits Junior: SO MANY TOYS IN A SNAP: Make dozens of cool electronic gadgets - all from one box! A safe and fun way to introduce children ages 8+ to the basics of electrical engineering! Build exciting projects and toys using the included colorful instruction book!
Times Table Book and Jigsaw Puzzle: Children can have fun learning up to their 12 times table with this colorful book and jigsaw set. Bright illustrations of planets, pirates and more provide an ideal way to count and visualize the calculations and build confidence in multiplication skills.
Westwood Public Library
