"The Personal Librarian" by Marie Benedict & Victoria Christopher Murray

The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict; Victoria Christopher Murray
Call Number: FICTION Benedict
A remarkable novel about J. P. Morgan's personal librarian, Belle da Costa Greene, the Black American woman who was forced to hide her true identity and pass as white in order to leave a lasting legacy that enriched our nation, from New York Times bestselling authors Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray. In her twenties, Belle da Costa Greene is hired by J. P. Morgan to curate a collection of rare manuscripts, books, and artwork for his newly built Pierpont Morgan Library. Belle becomes a fixture in New York City society and one of the most powerful people in the art and book world, known for her impeccable taste and shrewd negotiating for critical works as she helps create a world-class collection. But Belle has a secret, one she must protect at all costs. She was born not Belle da Costa Greene but Belle Marion Greener. She is the daughter of Richard Greener, the first Black graduate of Harvard and a well-known advocate for equality. Belle's complexion isn't dark because of her alleged Portuguese heritage that lets her pass as white-her complexion is dark because she is African American. The Personal Librarian tells the story of an extraordinary woman, famous for her intellect, style, and wit, and shares the lengths she must go to-for the protection of her family and her legacy-to preserve her carefully crafted white identity in the racist world in which she lives.

Identity and Passing:
- Discuss the theme of identity in the novel, especially Belle's decision to pass as white. How does this impact her personal and professional life?
Societal Expectations and Restrictions:
- Explore the societal expectations and restrictions placed on women, particularly women of color, during the time period depicted in the novel. How does Belle navigate these challenges?
Relationships and Personal Sacrifice:
- Analyze Belle's relationships with her family and colleagues. How do her choices and professional commitments affect her personal life?
Power Dynamics and Ambition:
- Examine the power dynamics at play in Belle's role as J.P. Morgan's personal librarian. How does her ambition drive her decisions, and what challenges does she face in a male-dominated world?
Ethics of Art Collecting:
- Consider the ethical dilemmas surrounding art collecting and the acquisition of rare manuscripts. How does Belle grapple with the morality of her role in building Morgan's collection?
Impact of Historical Events:
- Discuss the impact of historical events, such as World War I and the Harlem Renaissance, on the characters and the unfolding of the story.
Representation of Historical Figures:
- Evaluate the authors' portrayal of real historical figures like J.P. Morgan. How does the novel balance historical accuracy with creative storytelling?
Intersectionality:
- Consider the intersectionality of Belle's identity, including her race, gender, and socio-economic status. How do these intersecting factors shape her experiences and opportunities?
Literary Themes:
- Explore the literary themes presented in the novel, such as the importance of literature, art, and cultural preservation. How do these themes contribute to the overall narrative?
Legacy and Recognition:
- Discuss Belle's legacy and the recognition she receives for her contributions. How does the novel address the importance of acknowledging the achievements of individuals who may have been historically overlooked?

Belle da Costa Greene

Belle da Costa Greene was a prominent figure in the early 20th century, known for her role as the personal librarian to J.P. Morgan and her contributions to the world of art and literature. Here is a brief timeline of Belle da Costa Greene's life:

1883: Birth: Belle Marion Greener is born on November 26, 1883, in Washington, D.C. She is the daughter of Richard Greener, the first African American graduate of Harvard College.
1905: Marriage and Separation: Belle marries Thomas Pelham Greene, but the marriage ends in separation. She later adopts the professional name "da Costa Greene."
1905-1907: Princeton University: Belle works at Princeton University as a librarian, gaining valuable experience in the field.
1905-1909: Pierpont Morgan Library: Belle becomes the personal librarian and confidante to J.P. Morgan, working at the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York City. She is instrumental in building Morgan's rare book and manuscript collection.
1913: J.P. Morgan's Death: J.P. Morgan passes away, and Belle continues her work under the direction of his son, J.P. Morgan Jr.
1920s-1930s: Career Advancements: Belle becomes a respected figure in the world of art and literature. She is involved in the acquisition of rare manuscripts and artworks.
1934: Retirement from the Morgan Library: Belle retires from the Morgan Library after a successful and influential career.
1947: Death: Belle da Costa Greene passes away on May 10, 1950, in New York City.

Belle da Costa Greene's life is characterized by her groundbreaking career as a librarian and art collector. Her role at the Morgan Library and her contributions to the world of rare books and manuscripts have left a lasting legacy. Her ability to navigate the challenges of her time, including issues related to race and gender, has made her an important figure in the history of librarianship and cultural preservation.

J.P. Morgan

J.P. Morgan, whose full name was John Pierpont Morgan, was a prominent American financier and banker during the Gilded Age. Here is a brief timeline of key events in J.P. Morgan's life:

1837: Birth: J.P. Morgan is born on April 17, 1837, in Hartford, Connecticut, to Junius Spencer Morgan and Juliet Pierpont.
1857: Banking Career Begins: Morgan starts his banking career at Duncan, Sherman & Company in New York City.
1861-1865: American Civil War: During the Civil War, Morgan becomes involved in financing the Union war effort, gaining experience in dealing with financial markets.
1871: Formation of Drexel, Morgan & Co.: J.P. Morgan partners with Anthony Drexel to establish the banking firm Drexel, Morgan & Co. in New York City.
1895: J.P. Morgan & Company: The firm undergoes a reorganization and becomes J.P. Morgan & Company.
1896: Panic of 1896: Morgan plays a key role in stabilizing financial markets during the Panic of 1896.
1899: Formation of U.S. Steel: Morgan consolidates several steel companies to create the United States Steel Corporation, one of the first billion-dollar corporations.
1901: Formation of Northern Securities: Morgan plays a significant role in the formation of the Northern Securities Company, leading to his involvement in antitrust issues.
1907: Panic of 1907: Morgan again intervenes to stabilize financial markets during the Panic of 1907, demonstrating his influence in times of economic crisis.
1912: Death: J.P. Morgan dies on March 31, 1913, in Rome, Italy.
Legacy: J.P. Morgan's legacy includes his role as a financier, banker, and art collector. His influence extended to shaping the course of American finance during a critical period in the country's economic development.

J.P. Morgan's impact on the financial world and his involvement in major corporate consolidations have left a lasting mark on American economic history. While he was a powerful figure, his career was marked by both admiration and criticism, and his legacy continues to be a subject of historical analysis.

Marie Benedict

Background: Marie Benedict is known for keeping a low public profile, and there is limited public information about her personal life, including her birthdate and early background.
Educational Background: She holds a Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree from Boston College Law School and a Bachelor's degree from Boston College.
Professional Background: Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Marie Benedict had a career in law. Her legal background is evident in some of her novels, where legal themes or settings play a significant role.
Literary Career: Marie Benedict gained recognition for her historical novels that explore the lives of influential women, often bringing to light untold stories or providing a fresh perspective on well-known figures.
Notable Works:
- "The Other Einstein" (2016): A novel that offers a fictionalized account of the life of Mileva Marić Einstein, the first wife of Albert Einstein.
- "Carnegie's Maid" (2017): A historical novel that delves into the story of an Irish immigrant who assumes the identity of a woman working for Andrew Carnegie.
- "The Only Woman in the Room" (2019): This novel focuses on the life of actress and inventor Hedy Lamarr, exploring her contributions beyond the screen.
- "Lady Clementine" (2020): Benedict's novel about Clementine Churchill, the wife of Winston Churchill, exploring her role during critical historical periods.
Writing Style: Marie Benedict is known for her engaging storytelling and her ability to blend historical facts with fiction to create compelling narratives.
Collaborations: Marie Benedict has collaborated with other authors, such as Victoria Christopher Murray, on certain works, including "The Personal Librarian" (2021).

Victoria Christopher Murray

1962: Birth: Victoria Christopher Murray was born on February 2, 1962.
1997: Debut Novel - "Temptation": Victoria Christopher Murray's debut novel, "Temptation," is published. The novel explores themes of infidelity, forgiveness, and redemption.
2000s: Prolific Writing Career: Victoria Christopher Murray establishes herself as a prolific author, contributing to the genres of Christian fiction, contemporary fiction, and women's fiction. She becomes known for her engaging storytelling and exploration of complex interpersonal relationships.
2003: Essence Bestselling Author: Victoria achieves recognition as an Essence bestselling author.
2006: "The Ex Files": Murray releases "The Ex Files," a novel that explores the complexities of relationships and the impact of past romances.
2011: "Destiny's Divas" Series: Victoria Christopher Murray begins the "Destiny's Divas" series, which focuses on the lives of gospel singers. The series includes novels like "Sinners & Saints" (2012) and "Fortune & Fame" (2014).
2012: NAACP Image Award: Victoria receives an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work in Fiction for her novel "Destiny's Divas."
2017: "Stand Your Ground": Murray releases "Stand Your Ground," a novel that addresses issues of race, justice, and personal responsibility.
Collaborations: Victoria Christopher Murray collaborates with other authors on certain works, including joint projects such as "The Personal Librarian" (2021) co-authored with Marie Benedict.
2020s: Continued Writing: Victoria Christopher Murray continues her writing career, contributing to the literary landscape with new works.

An Illuminated Life by Heidi Ardizzone
Call Number: BIOGRAPHY GREENE
What would you give up to achieve your dream? When J. P. Morgan hired Belle da Costa Greene in 1905 to organize his rare book and manuscript collection, she had only her personality and a few years of experience to recommend her. Ten years later, she had shaped the famous Pierpont Morgan Library collection and was a proto-celebrity in New York and the art world, renowned for her self-made expertise, her acerbic wit, and her flirtatious relationships. Born to a family of free people of color, Greene changed her name and invented a Portuguese grandmother to enter white society. In her new world, she dined both at the tables of the highest society and with bohemian artists and activists. She also engaged in a decades-long affair with art critic Bernard Berenson. Greene is pure fascination -- the buyer of illuminated manuscripts who attracted others to her like moths to a flame.
Carolina Built by Kianna Alexander
Call Number: Fiction Alexander
Josephine N. Leary is determined to build a life of her own and a future for her family. When she moves to Edenton, North Carolina from the plantation where she was born, she is free, newly married, and ready to follow her dreams. As the demands of life pull Josephine's attention away, it becomes increasingly difficult for her to pursue her real estate aspirations. She finds herself immersed in deepening her marriage, mothering her daughters, and being a dutiful daughter and granddaughter. Still, she manages to teach herself to be a businesswoman, to manage her finances, and to make smart investments in the local real estate market. But with each passing year, it grows more and more difficult to focus on building her legacy from the ground up. "Filled with passion and perseverance, Josephine Leary is frankly a woman that everyone should know" (Sadeqa Johnson, author of Yellow Wife ) and her story speaks to the part of us that dares to dream bigger, tear down whatever stands in our way, and build something better for the loved ones we leave behind.
Black Girls Must Die Exhausted by Jayne Allen
Call Number: FICTION Allen
Tabitha Walker is a black woman with a plan to "have it all." At 33 years old, the checklist for the life of her dreams is well underway. Education? Check. Good job? Check. Down payment for a nice house? Check. Dating marriage material? Check, check, and check. With a coveted position as a local news reporter, a "paper-perfect" boyfriend, and even a standing Saturday morning appointment with a reliable hairstylist, everything seems to be falling into place. Then Tabby receives an unexpected diagnosis that brings her picture-perfect life crashing down, jeopardizing the keystone she took for granted: having children. With her dreams at risk of falling through the cracks of her checklist, suddenly she is faced with an impossible choice between her career, her dream home, and a family of her own. With the help of her best friends, the irreverent and headstrong Laila and Alexis, the mom jeans-wearing former "Sexy Lexi," and the generational wisdom of her grandmother and the nonagenarian firebrand Ms. Gretchen, Tabby explores the reaches of modern medicine and tests the limits of her relationships, hoping to salvage the future she always dreamed of. But the fight is all consuming, demanding a steep price that forces an honest reckoning for nearly everyone in her life. As Tabby soon learns, her grandmother's age-old adage just might still be true: Black girls must die exhausted.
The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett
Call Number: FICTION Bennett
The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it's everything: their families, their communities, their racial identities. Ten years later, one sister lives with her black daughter in the same southern town she once tried to escape. The other secretly passes for white, and her white husband knows nothing of her past. Still, even separated by so many miles and just as many lies, the fates of the twins remain intertwined. What will happen to the next generation, when their own daughters' storylines intersect? Weaving together multiple strands and generations of this family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the American history of passing.

*ebook & audiobook on Libby
The Great Mrs. Elias by Barbara Chase-Riboud
Call Number: FICTION Chase-Riboud
A murder and a case of mistaken identity brings the police to Hannah Elias' glitzy, five-story, twenty-room mansion on Central Park West. This is the beginning of an odyssey that moves back and forth in time and reveals the dangerous secrets of a mysterious woman, the fortune she built, and her precipitous fall. Born in Philadelphia in the late 1800s, Hannah Elias has done things she's not proud of to survive. Shedding her past, Hannah slips on a new identity before relocating to New York City to become as rich as a robber baron. Hannah quietly invests in the stock market, growing her fortune with the help of businessmen. As the money pours in, Hannah hides her millions across 29 banks. Finally attaining the life she's always dreamed, she buys a mansion on the Upper West Side and decorates it in gold and first-rate décor, inspired by her idol Cleopatra. The unsolved murder turns Hannah's world upside-down and threatens to destroy everything she's built. When the truth of her identity is uncovered, thousands of protestors gather in front of her stately home. Hounded by the salacious press, the very private Mrs. Elias finds herself alone, ensnared in a scandalous trial, and accused of stealing her fortune from whites. Packed with glamour, suspense, and drama, populated with real-life luminaries from the period, The Great Mrs. Elias brings a fascinating woman and the age she embodied to glorious, tragic life.
The Lioness of Boston by Emily Franklin
Call Number: FICTION Franklin
A deeply evocative portrayal of the life of the daring trailblazer for women everywhere. Isabella Stewart Gardner, vision not only created an inimitable legacy in American art but also transformed a city. By the time Isabella Stewart Gardner opened her Italian palazzo-style home as a museum in 1903 to showcase her collection of old masters, antiques, and objects d'art, she was already well-known for scandalizing Boston's polite society. But when Isabella first arrived in Boston in 1861, she was twenty years old, newly married to a wealthy trader, and unsure of herself. Puzzled by the frosty reception she received from stuffy bluebloods, she strived to fit in. After two devastating tragedies and rejection from upper society, Isabella discovered her spirit and cast off expectations. Freed by travel, Isabella explores the world of art, ideas, and letters, meeting such kindred spirits as Henry James and Oscar Wilde. From London and Paris to Egypt and Asia, she develops a keen eye for paintings and objects, and meets feminists ready to transform nineteenth century thinking in the twentieth century. Isabella becomes her own person, painted by John Singer Sargent in a portrait of daring décolletage, and fond of such stunts as walking a pair of lions in the Boston Public Garden. And finally becomes the first woman to open a museum in the United States. The Lioness of Boston is a portrait of what society expected a woman's life to be, shattered by a courageous soul who rebelled and was determined to live on her own terms.
Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones
Call Number: Fiction Jones
Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance . In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.
Passing by Nella Larsen; Emily Bernard (Introduction by); Thadious M. Davis (Notes by)
Call Number: Fiction Larsen
Irene Redfield is living an affluent, enviable life with her husband and children in the thriving African American enclave of Harlem in the 1920s. That is, until she runs into her childhood friend, Clare Kendry. Since they last saw each other, Clare, who is similarly light-skinned, has been "passing" for a white woman, married to a racist man who does not know about his wife's real identity, which she has chosen to hide from the rest of the world. Irene is both fascinated and repulsed by Clare's dangerous secret, and in turn, Clare yearns for Irene's sense of ease and security with her Black identity and community, which Clare gave up in pursuit of a more advantageous life, and which she can never embrace again. As the two women grow close, Clare begins to insert herself and her deception into every part of Irene's stable existence, and their complex reunion sets off a chain of events that dynamically alters both women forever. In this psychologically gripping and chilling novel, Nella Larsen explores the blurriness of race, sacrifice, alienation, and desire that defined her own experience as a woman of mixed race, issues that still powerfully resonate today. Ultimately, Larsen forces us to consider whether we can ever truly choose who we are. The Modern Library Torchbearers series features women who wrote on their own terms, with boldness, creativity, and a spirit of resistance.
The Gilded Years by Karin Tanabe
Call Number: FICTION Tanabe
Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed to attend the country's most exclusive school for women, Vassar College. Now, a bright, beautiful senior in the class of 1897, she is hiding a secret that would have banned her from admission: Anita is the only African-American student ever to attend Vassar. With her olive complexion and dark hair, this daughter of a janitor and descendant of slaves has successfully passed as white, but now finds herself rooming with Louise "Lottie" Taylor, the scion of one of New York's most prominent families. Though Anita has kept herself at a distance from her classmates, Lottie's sphere of influence is inescapable, her energy irresistible, and the two become fast friends. Pulled into her elite world, Anita learns what it's like to be treated as a wealthy, educated white woman--the person everyone believes her to be--and even finds herself in a heady romance with a moneyed Harvard student. It's only when Lottie becomes infatuated with Anita's brother, Frederick, whose skin is almost as light as his sister's, that the situation becomes particularly perilous. And as Anita's college graduation looms, those closest to her will be the ones to dangerously threaten her secret. Set against the vibrant backdrop of the Gilded Age, an era when old money traditions collided with modern ideas, Tanabe has written an unputdownable and emotionally compelling story of hope, sacrifice, and betrayal--and a gripping account of how one woman dared to risk everything for the chance at a better life.