Skip to Main Content

Islington Branch Book Club - Past Titles: "Ordinary Grace" by William Kent Krueger

Take a look through previous titles we've discussed at our Islington Branch Book Club

"Ordinary Grace" by William Kent Krueger

  1. Character Analysis:

    • Analyze the main characters of the novel, including Frank Drum, Jake Drum, Nathan Drum, and Ariel Drum. How do their individual personalities and experiences shape the narrative and themes of the story?
    • Discuss the character development of Frank Drum as he navigates the challenges of adolescence and grapples with loss and faith.
  2. Themes of Loss and Grief:

    • Explore the theme of loss in the novel. How do the characters cope with the various losses they experience throughout the story, including deaths in the community and personal tragedies?
    • Discuss the different ways in which grief is portrayed and expressed by the characters. How does the community come together to support one another in times of loss?
  3. Exploration of Faith:

    • Reflect on the role of faith and spirituality in the novel, particularly in the context of Frank Drum's coming-of-age journey. How do his perceptions of faith evolve throughout the story, and what role does religion play in his understanding of the world?
    • Discuss the characters' diverse beliefs and the ways in which they grapple with questions of faith and meaning in the face of adversity.
  4. Family Dynamics:

    • Examine the dynamics of the Drum family, including the relationships between Frank, his father Nathan, his mother Ruth, and his siblings. How do family dynamics evolve over the course of the novel, and how do they influence the characters' actions and decisions?
    • Discuss the impact of family secrets and revelations on the Drum family's relationships and dynamics.
  5. Small-Town Setting:

    • Reflect on the significance of the small-town setting of New Bremen, Minnesota, in the novel. How does the close-knit community shape the characters' lives and interactions, and how does it contribute to the atmosphere of the story?
    • Discuss the portrayal of 1960s small-town America and its cultural, social, and political context.
  6. Justice and Morality:

    • Explore the theme of justice and morality in the novel, particularly in the context of the central mystery and the characters' quest for truth. How do the characters navigate questions of right and wrong, and how do their moral choices shape the outcome of the story?
    • Discuss the role of forgiveness and redemption in the characters' journey toward understanding and acceptance.
  7. Narrative Structure:

    • Analyze the narrative structure of the novel, which is framed as a reflection by the adult Frank Drum looking back on the events of the summer of 1961. How does this narrative device shape the reader's experience of the story and its themes?
    • Discuss the significance of hindsight and memory in the storytelling process, and how it influences the reader's understanding of the characters and their motivations.
  8. Symbolism and Imagery:

    • Examine the use of symbolism and imagery in the novel, including recurring motifs such as trains, rivers, and music. What do these symbols represent, and how do they contribute to the thematic depth of the story?
    • Discuss the significance of the novel's title, "Ordinary Grace," and its relevance to the themes of loss, faith, and redemption explored in the story.
  9. Coming-of-Age Themes:

    • Reflect on the coming-of-age themes present in the novel, particularly in Frank Drum's journey from adolescence to adulthood. How does he grapple with questions of identity, morality, and responsibility throughout the story?
    • Discuss moments of growth and self-discovery for Frank, and how they contribute to his understanding of himself and the world around him.
  10. Impact of Trauma:

    • Explore the impact of trauma on the characters' lives and relationships. How do traumatic events shape their perspectives and influence their actions and decisions?
    • Discuss the characters' resilience and capacity for healing in the face of adversity, and how they find hope and redemption amidst tragedy.

William Kent Krueger is an American author best known for his mystery novels, particularly the Cork O'Connor series set in the Northwoods of Minnesota. He was born on November 16, 1950, in Torrington, Wyoming, but spent most of his childhood in Oregon and later in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State.

Krueger developed a love for reading and writing at a young age, inspired by the natural beauty of the Pacific Northwest. He attended Stanford University, where he studied literature and creative writing, before transferring to Reed College in Portland, Oregon, where he earned his bachelor's degree.

After completing his education, Krueger held various jobs, including logging timber, construction work, freelance journalism, and teaching. His diverse experiences provided him with a wealth of material and inspiration for his writing.

Krueger's literary career began with the publication of his first novel, "Iron Lake," in 1998, which introduced readers to the character of Cork O'Connor, a former sheriff of Tamarack County, Minnesota. The novel received critical acclaim and marked the beginning of the Cork O'Connor mystery series, which has since become a beloved and bestselling series.

The Cork O'Connor series features gripping mysteries set against the backdrop of the Northwoods landscape, exploring themes of family, identity, and the complexities of human relationships. Krueger's vivid descriptions of the Minnesota wilderness and his skillful character development have earned him a dedicated following of readers.

In addition to the Cork O'Connor series, Krueger has written standalone novels and short stories, showcasing his versatility as a writer. His standalone novel "Ordinary Grace" (2013) received widespread acclaim and won the Edgar Award for Best Novel, further solidifying his reputation as a master storyteller.

Throughout his career, Krueger has received numerous awards and honors for his contributions to the mystery genre, including multiple Anthony Awards and Barry Awards. He is also a New York Times bestselling author, with his novels translated into over twenty languages.

William Kent Krueger continues to write and captivate readers with his compelling mysteries and evocative storytelling. He resides in Minnesota with his wife, where he draws inspiration from the natural beauty of the Northwoods for his novels.


Westwood Public Library

Main Library

660 High Street
Westwood, MA 02090
Email Main Library

Islington Branch

273 Washington Street
Westwood, MA 02090
Email Branch Library